WelcomeToursLinksContact Us

You can renew your spirit and mind on an Historical Journey; make sure to follow the historic markers along the map, and you will be amazed at the rich cultural history of the byway.

1. The Red River of the North encompasses land in South Dakota, Minnesota northward through eastern North Dakota and into southern Manitoba, where it empties into the southern end of Lake Winnipeg.

In Minnesota, the Red River Basin covers about 37,100 square miles in parts of 21 counties. The river basin's terrain varies from the flat, farmed plains east of the Red River, to the rolling uplands in the east-central portion of the basin, to the extensive wetlands in the northeast.

2. Kittson County Museum at Lake Bronson, open 9am - 5pm weekdays, 1-5pm Sat and Sun. Summers only. Located in City of Lake Bronson. A variety of exhibits about the past way of life in the county. Many examples of antique cars and farm equipment. County newspapers and census information available on micro film. Free admission.

3. The Pelan Park and Pioneer Village is a restored Pioneer Village, with wild flower gardens and wild berry picking.

4. Pioneer Farm and Village-Agriculture museum includes log cabin, barn, store, church, school, blacksmith, print shop, post office, headquarters, lunch counter, fellowship hall, storage shed, pioneer museum, exhibit hall, trappers cabin. Annual festival in August, admission charge. Open May 15, 2005 to September 15, 2005 Hours: M-F noon-5pm. Free admission. Free parking.

5. Polaris Experience Center- 205 5th Ave. SW Roseau The newest attraction in this community known for snowmobiles, all-terrain vehicles and hockey isn't a museum. Instead, the 5,600-square-foot Polaris Experience Center is a self-guided tour, of sorts, through the history of a company that's been an integral part of life here for more than 50 years. Located North of the Polaris Manufacturing facility, Experience Center hours are 11:00am-6:00pm (self guided tours). Fridays 11:00am-7:00pm. Saturdays 11:00am-5:00pm. Closed Sundays. Tours for the main plant are daily at 2:00 pm Special tours of 15 or more may be arranged by calling (218)463-2312

The Roseau County Museum- 307 Third Ave. NW, Roseau, MN 56751 (218) 463-1918

6. Warroad has three Historical Markers: Hospital Bay, Point, and at the School. These three markers deal with the early explorers to the area. One marker, located on Lake Street NE, just west of 1st Ave. explains how the city of Warroad obtained its name from its earliest inhabitants, the Chippewa Native Americans.

The historic marker at the Point at the end of Lake St. NE, commemorates Pierre Gaultier De Sierur ed la Verendrey, one of the earliest French explorers to the area. A daring soldier, fur trader, La Verendrey established Fort St. Charles on Lake of the Woods in 1732.

The old Canadian National Depot, located at 121 Main Ave. NE, is on the National Register of Historic Buildings. The Depot has been completely renovated to house the city offices and the police department.

Warroad Heritage Center and Museum- This building houses the public library and center for historical information on early Warroad history. Exhibits include Indian artifacts from the Warroad area, the local commercial fishing industry, the history of the Northwest Angle, early pioneers, military, the fur trade era, Marvin Window history, Christian Brothers Hocky Stick factory information and more. Early French explorers, Sioux and Chippewa Indians are buried in the area. Free, open daily year round. Located at 202 Main Ave. NE in Warroad. Open Monday-Saturday 1-4 pm, free admission. Call 218-386-2500.

Veteran's Memorial, located on the corner of Elk St. and Highway 11, this beautiful memorial commemorates our United States Armed Forces.

St. Mary's Catholic Church-Dedicated in 1954, the church is the largest all-weather log church in the world. Constructed of logs with 70,000 hand-split cedar shakes on the roof that were split and stained by the parishioners. The Church is located on the south side of the Warroad River, and has a 40 foot bell tower adjacent to the church, which was designed as a replica of the cross and cairn of stones erected on Massacre Island to commemorate the site were Father Aulneau was killed.

WM. S. Marvin Training and Visitor Center-Experience the entire history of Marvin Windows and Doors. The 6,000 square foot museum and gift shop is open from noon until 6 p.m. weekdays and from 1-4 pm on weekends. Exhibits include a combination of artifacts and interactive presentations to create a memorable experience for visitors of all ages.

Take a walk through history on the Ka-Back-A-Nung Trail. A self-guided map for the 2.5 mile route is available at the Warroad Heritage Center or the Warroad Area Chamber of Commerce 800-328-4455.

7. Ft. St. Charles-Restored Fort St. Charles occupies the exact site of the original log fort and fur-trading post erected in 1732 by a valiant band of French voyageurs commanded by Pierre La Verendrye who was born at Three Rivers, Quebec, on the St. Lawrence River on November 17, 1685. The fort was abandon in 1760, but rediscovered and marked by a group of Jesuit fathers in 1908. The reconstructed fort is located on Magnusons Island at the Northwest Angle near Angle Inlet in Lake of the Woods County. Visitors may access the Island by boat from Angle Inlet at the Northwest Angle.

8. Baudette-Lake of the Woods County Museum-The museum has a large display area, audio-visual programs and a comprehensive library, which includes microfilm of the county newspapers from 1907-1960. The museum is staffed with a full-time curator/historian. Exhibits focus on the geological formation of Lake of the Woods, the natural history of the area, native cultures, the great forest fire of 1910, commercial fishing, logging and the pharmaceutical industry. Located off of Highway 11, just east of Baudette, across from the Government Center, the Museum's hours are Tuesday-Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. May 1- October 1. 218-634-1200.

The largest tribute to any fish is Willie Walleye, over 40-ft. long and weighing about two tons. Willie was constructed in 1959. The town's festival, Willie the Walleye Day, cranks up the first week in June. Baudette lays claim to the title "Walleye Capital of the World."

9. Grand Mound, at the confluence of the Big Fork and Rainy Rivers. Large burial mounds from the Laurel culture.

10. Koochiching Museums/Bronko Nagurski Annex, Smokey Bear Park, International Falls. Early area history interpreted, and famous son Bronislaw Nagurski honored.

11. Ranier Rail Port, featuring the oldest Cantilever Rail Bridge in the United States, or Canada for that matter.

12. Gold Mine District, Rainy Lake Visitor Center, Voyageurs National Park. Information and self-guided tours of the historic gold mines that attracted the first wave of fortune seekers to Rainy Lake.